Accomplished Legal Professional Using Insights from Both Sides of the Law

What Penalties Could I Face If Convicted of DUI/DWI in Georgia?

Avoiding a conviction should be your number one goal if you have already been charged with a DUI in Georgia. Just like in other states, the Georgia government has adopted what is essentially a no tolerance policy. What this means to defendants like you is that you absolutely will be punished upon conviction even if it is your first offense.

Spending time in jail is always a risk for those convicted of a DUI/DWI. While time in jail is what many defendants most want to avoid, you should be aware that there are other possible penalties as well. Below you will find a brief breakdown of some of the penalties associated with DUI convictions in Georgia.

First Offense:

— Loss of driving privileges

— A fine of $300 to $1,000

— Mandatory community service

— License reinstatement fee of $210

— Possible jail sentence of one year

Second Offense (within five years of prior offense):

— Loss of license for up to three years

— Minimum fine of $600 to $1,000

— Mandatory community service

— Mandatory clinical evaluation

— Possible substance abuse treatment program at your expense

— License reinstatement fee of $210

— Minimum mandatory jail sentence of 48 hours

— Possible jail sentence of up to one year

At this point, you likely realize that convictions for any subsequent DUI offenses will only result in more severe penalties. Going back to the first sentence in this blog post, avoiding conviction is the key element in protecting your freedom and your finances. The best way to accomplish this goal is by working with an experienced criminal defense attorney committed to fighting on your behalf.